New voice recording feature
WhatsApp users on iPhone can now pause and resume while recording voice messages. The feature was in beta mode for some time now but has now been rolled out publicly. Users will now see a pause button while recording voice notes. This means that users can listen to the voice note before they actually send it. They can delete the voice note or the option of resuming the recording is also there. Earlier, users had the option to stop rather than pause the voice recording.
You can now ensure only select users can send messages
This feature uses the Focus mode which is available with iOS 15. You can now ensure that select users can message you even if you have turned on the Focus mode. For the uninitiated, Focus mode is a feature that allows you to set your iPhone in DND mode, which means you can choose what notifications to receive. The feature was available to other apps like iMessage but is now available for WhatsApp as well. Do note that you will need your iPhone to be updated to iOS 15 or above to use this WhatsApp feature.
See the profile photos of users in notifications
Till now when you received a notification from WhatsApp, you could not see the photo but just the name of the person who sent the message. With the latest update, you can see the profile photo of the user as well in the notification summary. This feature is also available for those who have upgraded to iOS 15 or later version.