Tier 4 lockdowns may last until April, Boris Johnson warns

TIER 4 may last until April or even longer, Boris Johnson warned last night.

The PM refused to say when he would be able to lift the draconian restrictions placed on three quarters of the country.

⚠️ Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates

Boris Johnson said the Tiers system may be able to be lifted from April - but the date could be brought forward


Boris Johnson said the Tiers system may be able to be lifted from April – but the date could be brought forward

It comes after another 20 million people were put into Tier 4 as of 00.01 this morning – meaning now nearly everyone is under Tier 3 or 4.

But it came on the same day the Oxford University/AstraZeneca jab was finally given the green light for approval, meaning vaccinations can be sped up.

And ministers will prioritise everyone getting at least their first jab, before giving everyone their follow-ups.

The PM was asked by ITV’s Robert Peston yesterday whether the UK could start lifting restrictions by April.

Previously Matt Hancock has suggested life can get back to normal by the spring.

He said: “That will depend on how fast we can get the virus under control with tough tiering, with testing, and with rolling out the vaccination programme.

“I am not going to give a deadline.

He warned that Brits may be in Tier 4 – where shops and restaurants are shut – for the long haul. But if the vaccine rollout can be sped up, then it may be lifted sooner.

The PM replied: “If the tiering can work to bring the virus under control, if the vaccine rollout proceeds fast enough and we’re able to inoculate to protect those most vulnerable, then there’s a world in which that date could be brought forward, who knows by how many weeks.

READ  Sacked Treasury adviser settles unfair dismissal claim

“That’s obviously what we are aiming for.”

Professor Chris Whitty has also said in the past he hoped things would start to lift from Easter.

Shops, indoor activities, gyms and hairdressers will be shut in Tier 4 to stop the Covid spread – and schools in the worst-hit areas are staying closed too.

People in Tier 4 can only meet with one other person outside – and have been told to stay at home unless they have a good reason to be out – such as exercise, school, work or medical appointments.

Areas changing Tiers

To move into Tier 4:

  • Leicester City
  • Leicestershire (Oadby and Wigston, Harborough, Hinckley and Bosworth, Blaby, Charnwood, North West Leicestershire, Melton) 
  • Lincolnshire (City of Lincoln, Boston, South Kesteven, West Lindsey, North Kesteven, South Holland, East Lindsey)
  • Northamptonshire (Corby, Daventry, East Northamptonshire, Kettering, Northampton, South Northamptonshire, Wellingborough)
  • Derby and Derbyshire (Derby, Amber Valley, South Derbyshire, Bolsover, North East Derbyshire, ChesterfieldErewash, Derbyshire Dales, High Peak) 
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire (Gedling, Ashfield, Mansfield, Rushcliffe, Bassetlaw, Newark and Sherwood, Nottinghamshire, Broxtowe) 
  • Birmingham and Black Country (Dudley, Birmingham, Sandwell, Walsall, Wolverhampton) 
  • Coventry 
  • Solihull 
  • Warwickshire (Rugby, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Warwick, North Warwickshire, Stratford-upon-Avon) 
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent (East Staffordshire, Stafford, South Staffordshire, Cannock Chase, Lichfield, Staffordshire Moorlands, Newcastle under Lyme, Tamworth, Stoke-on-Trent) 
  • Lancashire (Burnley, Pendle, Blackburn with Darwen, Ribble Valley, Blackpool, Preston, Hyndburn, Chorley, Fylde, Lancaster, Rossendale, South Ribble, West Lancashire, Wyre) 
  • Cheshire and Warrington (Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Warrington)
  • Cumbria (Eden, Carlisle, South Lakeland, Barrow-in-Furness, Copeland, Allerdale) 
  • Greater Manchester (Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Wigan)
  • Tees Valley (Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees ) 
  • North East (County Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside, Sunderland) 
  • Gloucestershire (Gloucester, Forest of Dean, Cotswolds, Tewkesbury, Stroud, Cheltenham) 
  • Somerset Council (Mendip, Sedgemoor, Somerset West and Taunton, South Somerset)
  • Swindon 
  • Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole 
  • Isle of Wight 
  • New Forest
READ  Timeline of Tories refusing circuit breaker as second national lockdown looms

The following local authority areas will move to Tier 3:

  • Rutland 
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin 
  • Worcestershire (Bromsgrove, Malvern Hills, Redditch, Worcester, Wychavon, Wyre Forest)
  • Herefordshire 
  • Liverpool City Region (Halton, Knowsley, Liverpool, Sefton, Wirral, St Helens) 
  • York & North Yorkshire (Scarborough, Hambleton, Richmondshire, Selby, Craven, Ryedale, Harrogate, City of York) 
  • Bath and North East Somerset 
  • Devon, Plymouth, Torbay (East Devon, Exeter, Mid Devon, North Devon, South Hams, Teignbridge, Torridge, West Devon, Plymouth, Torbay)
  • Cornwall 
  • Dorset
  • Wiltshire

All of the North East of England, the South West and most of the Midlands was thrown into Tier 4 this morning.

All of the North-east of England, including Cumbria, Cheshire, Warrington, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Blackpool, and Blackburn with Darwen have joined them too.

Most of the West Midlands and all of the East Midlands, except Rutland will be follow suit

And large parts of the South West will also be plunged into the toughest measures in either Tier 4 or Tier 3.

Yesterday’s announcement means that all of England is living under Tier 3 or Tier 4 lockdown – apart from 2,000 people living on the Isles of Scilly.

Mr Hancock told MPs most new cases are from the new variant, which is as much as 56 per cent more contagious.

Boris Johnson declares his Brexit deal allows the UK to ‘have its cake and eat it’



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here