SpaceX to launch 60 Starlink satellites today – watch Falcon 9 launch HERE


SpaceX now has more than 1,600 Starlink satellites in orbit, but it will increase the load later today. Elon Musk’s company will be launching the 60 satellites into orbit onboard a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket. The launch will take place from the Cape Canaveral Space Force Station in Florida.

SpaceX has said the launch window opens today at 2.59pm EDT (7.59pm BST), with a back up window at 2.38pm EDT (7.38pm BST) tomorrow, May 27.

A live stream of the event has been embedded onto this page, courtesy of SpaceX.

It will begin “about 15 minutes” before launch, SpaceX said.

Mr Musk’s firm will be optimistic the launch will go ahead today, with good weather conditions forecasted in Florida.

SpaceX wrote on its website: “SpaceX is targeting Wednesday, May 26 for the next Falcon 9 launch of 60 Starlink satellites from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station in Florida.

“The instantaneous window is at 2:59 p.m. EDT, or 18:59 UTC, and a backup opportunity is available on Thursday, May 27 at 2:38 p.m. EDT, or 18:38 UTC.

“Falcon 9’s first stage booster previously supported the Sentinel-6A mission.

“Following stage separation, SpaceX will land Falcon 9’s first stage on the ‘Just Read the Instructions’ droneship, which will be located in the Atlantic Ocean.

READ MORE: Elon Musk says Mars city is ‘next logical step’ for humanity

Ofcom has given approval for dishes to be installed across UK homes, Bloomberg confirmed.

But Starlink will not come cheap to potential UK users. The initial cost of having the hardware set up is £439, plus another £54 for shipping fees.

READ  A US-Russia nuclear war could 'plunge Earth into a 10-year winter'

On top of this, users will have to pay a further £84 a month to receive Starlink’s broadband.

Mr Musk has goals to get 12,000 Starlink satellites into orbit by 2026.





READ SOURCE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here