Premier League player of the year revealed as season reaches its climax

With the Premier League season almost over, there is plenty of debate surrounding who will land the PFA Player of the Year award.

Virgil van Dijk and Raheem Sterling are considered the two top contenders, although they are joined on the list of nominees by Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero, Sadio Mane and Eden Hazard.

And a fresh perspective on the Premier League in the form of a ranking of the top 50 players has rated Liverpool star van Dijk as the star man.

Magazine FourFourTwo have drawn up their list of the best players this season and labelled the imposing Dutch defender as player of the year.

Virgil van Dijk has been ranked the best player in the Premier League this season

The list, surprisingly, puts Portuguese star Bernardo Silva in second spot ahead of Sterling, with Hazard coming in third ahead of fellow PFA award nominees Mane and Aguero.

Despite being snubbed from the PFA shortlist, Mohamed Salah is ranked seventh, ahead of Harry Kane, Aymeric Laporte and Andrew Robertson completing the top 10.

Big names Son Heung-min, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Alexandre Lacazette and Paul Pogba are joined in the top 15 by Wolves ace Joao Moutinho.

Raheem Sterling is considered van Dijk’s main rival for PFA Player of the Year

Liverpool keeper Alisson is placed 25th, with no place for any other Reds players in the top 50.

Manchester United players Victor Lindelof (31st), Marcus Rashford (34th) and David De Gea (40th) are also included.

READ  Unai Emery makes Laurent Koscielny declaration as Arsenal stand-off continues

Van Dijk is being heavily tipped to land the PFA gong to go with his FourFourTwo recognition – and manager Jurgen Klopp believes he deserves the accolade.

“Would I feel sad if Van Dijk doesn’t win Player of the Year? For him yes, of course,” Klopp said.

Mohamed Salah missed out on the PFA player of the year shortlist

“He’s had an outstanding season. Will he have deserved it? Of course. It was last season when Kevin De Bruyne and Mo Salah both played unbelievable seasons and Mo won it.

“We were happy about that and not because De Bruyne lost it, because he would have deserved it as well.

“I think it is the same again in this case. It’s clear, the same again, I would be really happy for Virgil to win it, that’s clear.”

Read More

Mirror Football’s Top Stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here