Man Utd forced into UCL Group of Death after Liverpool prevent Porto draw

Manchester United are facing a tough task in the Champions League group stages after being drawn against Paris Saint-Germain and RB Leipzig.

Drawn out in pot two, the Red Devils were placed in group H with last year’s Champions League finalists and one of the surprise packages.

Their spot in Group H raised some eyebrows with United the penultimate team drawn from pot two but unable to be placed alongside Porto in Group C.

Instead, local rivals Manchester City were handed the more enviable task of heading to Portugal rather than Paris – and United have old rivals Liverpool to blame.

That’s because the Anfield club were already drawn in Group D, where they will take on Ajax.

Man Utd have been handed a group of death in the Champions League

Liverpool and United are paired together for TV purposes and unable to feature in the same side of the draw, which would cause them to share match nights and therefore clash in group stage fixtures.

As a result, Groups A-D were all unavailable to United once Liverpool were drawn out in Group D and they now face a nightmare group as a result.

After being handed a draw against PSG, German side RB Leipzig were drawn from pot three to enter their group, a side who reached the quarter-finals last season.

Liverpool blocked off the much easier Group C by being drawn in Group D

Manchester City, on the other hand, were given Olympiakos alongside Porto in their much more appealing Group C which was closed off to United.

READ  Manchester United’s Martial and Lingard ruled out for three weeks

The final stage of the draw saw newcomers Istanbul Basaksehir added to United’s group with Marseille rounding off City’s group.

Liverpool, who caused the Group of Death for United after being drawn out first, will face Ajax, Atalanta and FC Midtjylland as they look to regain the crown they won in 2018/19.

Champions League groups in full

Group A: Bayern Munich, Atletico Madrid, FC Salzburg, Lokomotiv Moscow
Group B: Real Madrid, Shakhtar Donetsk, Inter Milan, Borussia Monchengladbach
Group C: Porto, Man City, Oympiacos, Marseille
Group D: Liverpool, Ajax, Atalanta, FC Midtjylland
Group E: Sevilla, Chelsea, Krasnodar, Stade Rennais
Group F: Zenit, Borussia Dortmund, Lazio, Club Brugge
Group G: Juventus, Barcelona, Dynamo Kiev, Ferencvarosi
Group H: PSG, Man Utd, RB Leipzig, Istanbul Basaksehir.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here