FB's Richard Reese Named Big 12 Special Teams Player of the … –

Sophomore running back became first Bear in program history to return consecutive kicks for TDs

11/27/2023 12:02:00 PM

IRVING, Texas – Baylor football sophomore running back Richard Reese has been named the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Week, as announced Monday by the conference office.
Reese returned two kickoffs for touchdowns in Saturday’s game vs. West Virginia, marking the 26th time in NCAA FBS history a player has done so. With the Bears trailing 10-0, Reese housed a 96-yard return to get BU on the board. Then, on his very next attempt following a WVU score, Reese took another one back 93 yards to pull Baylor back within three again at 17-14.
The product of Bellville, Texas, became just the second player in program history with two kick return TDs in the same game, and the first to do so on consecutive kicks. Reese finished the game with 247 return yards on five attempts. For the year, Reese improved his return average to 32.8 yards per return following his standout performance.
This marks Baylor’s 22nd all-time Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Week honor and second of the season, after kicker Isaiah Hankins won the award on Oct. 23. Freshman cornerback Caden Jenkins was previously named the Big 12 Newcomer of the Week on Oct. 2, giving the Bears three Big 12 weekly award winners for the sixth consecutive season. This is Reese’s third-career Big 12 weekly award, as he won newcomer honors twice in 2022.
Joining Reese as this week’s Big 12 honorees are Iowa State’s Abu Sama III (Offensive and Newcomer) and Oklahoma State’s Trey Rucker (Defensive).
To stay up to date on all things Baylor football, follow the team on its official Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts: @BUFootball.
2003 – Robert Quiroga, WR (Nov. 10)
2004 – Braelon Davis, CB (Sept. 27)
2004 – Willie Andrews, S (Nov. 1)
2005 – Ryan Havens, PK (Oct. 10)
2005 – Daniel Sepulveda, P (Nov. 21)
2006 – Daniel Sepulveda, P (Nov. 6)
2010 – Derek Epperson, P (Nov. 1)
2011 – Aaron Jones, PK (Sept. 6)
2014 – Terrell Burt, S (Oct. 6)
2014 – Chris Callahan, PK (Nov. 10)
2017 – Connor Martin, PK (Sept. 25)
2018 – Drew Galitz, P (Sept. 24)
2019 – Grayland Arnold, S/PR (Sept. 9)
2019 – John Mayers, K (Sept. 30)
2019 – John Mayers, K (Oct. 14)
2019 – Bravvion Roy, DT (Nov. 4)
2019 – John Mayers, K (Nov. 11)
2020 – Trestan Ebner, RB/KR (Sept. 28)
2020 – John Mayers, K (Nov. 30)
2021 – Trestan Ebner, RB/KR (Sept. 27)
2023 – Isaiah Hankins, K (Oct. 23)
2023 – Richard Reese, RB/KR (Nov. 27)


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.