English ESL breakaway clubs to be fined £20m by Premier League

Chelsea fans protest against the European Super League
The ESL proposals sparked a number of fan protests outside the clubs’ stadiums

The six Premier League clubs involved in the European Super League (ESL) are set to be fined over £20m between them.

Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea Manchester City, Tottenham and Arsenal wanted to form a breakaway league, a plan that was widely criticised across football and by the UK government.

Further cash penalties and points deductions will be applied should they attempt a similar project again.

It is understood the fines will help fund grassroots and community projects.

Nine of the ESL clubs – the six Premier League sides, plus AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid – were fined a similar amount by European governing body Uefa last month.

They agreed to pay 15m euros (£13.4m) between them and have 5% of their Uefa competition revenues held for one season, starting in 2023-24.

The other three clubs involved – Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus – are set to face “appropriate action” under Uefa’s disciplinary process having so far refused to renounce the breakaway league.

More to follow.


See also  US Open: Novak Djokovic is in, but Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer are out


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here