Its billions of users might not be aware of these rules but a quick dig into WhatsApp’s terms and conditions reveals that the Facebook-owned firm can delete accounts if they lay dormant for a set amount of time.
WhatsApp says that anyone who doesn’t use their account for 120 days could find that things get deleted.
In a post on its website, the chat app says: “To maintain security, limit data retention, and protect the privacy of our users, WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity. Inactivity means the user hasn’t connected to WhatsApp.”
It’s worth noting that even if you launch WhatsApp but your device isn’t connected to the web, the company still assumes that you are inactive.
“An internet connection is required for an account to be active. If a user has WhatsApp open on their device, but they don’t have an internet connection, then the account will be inactive,” explained WhatsApp.